National Salad Month? Yes, please.

Brace yourself.  The moment you’ve all been waiting for:  National Salad Month.  I know, I can’t believe it’s already here either.  You see, I’ve had a National Salad Month shaped void in my soul for so long and… Ok,  just kidding.

But really, it’s no secret that I embrace silly and non-essential “holidays” in an opportunistic way to inspire blog post topics.  And I do it shamelessly.  As in, no shame.  None.

So, when I read somewhere that May was National Salad Month, I said “I like salad.  I bet my GPP readers do, too.” And I like greens and a little dressing as much as the next person, but that hardly warrants exciting content (“Take the lettuce, drizzle the dressing, eat it with a fork, see you tomorrow”).

Mostly, these recipes will have the word salad in them, and that’s the only other common denominator.  You’ll see!

(Don’t worry, I won’t go out of my way to make these unhealthy.  There will be no fried Snickers bar salad with caramel and Crisco dressing… for example.)

Today we’re making…

Again, the word salad is used loosely here: this is really more of a fruity dessert… But it is sooo good.  (I actually first had it at a “salad party,” which is what made me think of this series in the first place.)

What you’ll need:

  • 2 lbs. red seedless grapes
  • 2 lbs. green seedless grapes
  • 8 oz. sour cream
  • 8 oz. cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 c. white sugar
Topping Ingredients:
  • 3/4 c. brown sugar
  • 1/2 c. chopped walnuts or pecans
  1. Remove the grapes from their stems, rinse, and drain.  Set aside.
  2. Cream the white sugar, sour cream, and cream cheese together until combined.  Stir in the grapes until they are coated with the mixture
  3. Sprinkle the brown sugar and nuts over the top, then cover and chill overnight in the refrigerator.
Note:  You can use less or more grapes; that just means the salad will be creamier…or less creamy.  And it’s not imperative that you use both red and green grapes (I’ve made it before with just red and I hardly notice a difference).
This recipe will make a very large amount… think: potluck dinner to feed a few dozen people.  However, cutting in half is as easy as dividing by two (yeah, I really just explained that), and usually when I make it, this is what I do.
And did I mention it’s DELICIOUS!?!  Let’s look at a picture of it again:
I think I’ll have some now…