Fabric.com

I was playing on Fabric.com the other day, Pinning away (and pining away) because I have a few fabric-related projects coming up.  And they don’t involve sewing, just stapling, hem taping, and other forms of jerry-rigging.  Wanna see my finds?  (If the answer is no, that’s cool — just check back tomorrow for a completely different type of post.)

First, my headboard ideas.  As you may remember, my headboard is a brown (faux) leather covered piece of plywood wrapped in batting.

There never has (and never will) be a good picture of it, until I get a fancier camera, that is.  (Santa, in case you’re listening, I need a Digital SLR camera.  Any old kind, I’m not particular… but I think my readers are starting to judge me for the poor Android phone photography).

While we liked the brown (faux) leather at the time we bought it four years ago (it’s actually a really nice basket weave-type thing), we have since grown tired of it… mostly because, when the bed’s not made and all the colorful pillows are in hiding, it just looks like a white bed with a brown head board.  Not too exciting.  Since the bedroom colors are dark grey, navy, turquoise, lime green, and a few bits of orange, I wanted to find something that combined all or some of these (ideally without a grey background so it doesn’t clash or blend into the wall color).

So, I turned to Fabric.com for colorful pattern inspiration.  Here are a few of my faves:

Premier Prints Chipper Twill Chartreuse

Premier Prints Chipper Twill Chartreuse
Fabric.com

Premier Prints ZigZag Chartreuse/White

Premier Prints ZigZag Chartreuse/White
Fabric.com

Premier Prints Suzani Twill Harmony/Green

Premier Prints Suzani Twill Harmony/Green
Fabric.com

Premier Prints Ikat Domino Dossett Mandarin

Premier Prints Ikat Domino Dossett Mandarin
Fabric.com

The last two have grey backgrounds, which I just got through saying I wouldn’t do because of the grey walls… but they’re so fun!  I’d have to order swatches to see it in person.  It could look really nice, or really busted, depending on which shade of grey (I think that’s the first time I’ve typed the word “busted” in its vernacular sense.)

I think of the four, I’m leaning towards the first one — the white and chartreuse ikat.  (Cast your votes now!)

Ok, next project:  I’d like to add some curtains to the living room windows.  NYC apartment windows are notorious for being hideously ugly (and why?) — it’s a fact.  Here are my unadorned living room windows:

(These are the first pictures I’ve ever taken of them.  I searched high and low, through my bedroom tour post as well as the rest of this blog, and I found nary a one.  That is no accident.)

Wait.  Those pictures don’t do the nasty-ness justice.  Here are some close-ups:

And I assure you, that is not dirt.  They’re as clean as they’re ever going to get.

Seriously, those things need to be covered up.  Bleck.

I could go with a solid color and just find something store bought, but that whole wall is lacking a bit as it’s just the windows and the butcher block dining room table, so a pattern it is.  Considering that the living room colors are orange, green, and blue, here’s what I’m thinking about:

Stella Bukhara Fez Multi

Stella Bukhara Fez Multi
Fabric.com

(Admittedly, this will probably get vetoed by the husband because it has something that resembles pink in it, but whatever, I can dream.)

Waverly Button Blooms Spa

Waverly Button Blooms Spa
Fabric.com

(And I DEFINITELY know Josh will never go for that one because of the flowers.  Whatever.  Flowers are awesome.  Boys are lame.)

Annette Tatum Bohemian Chevron Teal -- living room colors

Annette Tatum Bohemian Chevron Teal — living room colors
Fabric.com

Waverly Button Blooms Confetti

Waverly Button Blooms Confetti
Fabric.com

That’s all I have found for now.  Of course I’ve got other fabric related projects (a shade for the bedroom window, a hand-painted shower curtain, new covers for my throw pillows), but making that many choices at once overwhelms me, so only one two projects at a time.

Ok, for real though, cast your votes, give me your recommendations!  Which ones should I use?  Which ones are your favorite?  And which ones do you think Josh will hate the most?  :)

One thought on “Fabric.com

  1. Whew, no joke about those fugly windows. Hope the redecorating goes well – I like the “Annette” Chevron Teal pattern!

Comments are closed.