No-Sew Scarf Tutorial

 

Look what I made!

 

Now ask me some questions.  Ok?  Go!

You:  Courtney, did you have to use a sewing machine to make that fringed scarf?

Me:  Nope.

You:  Did you use a needle and thread?

Me:  Nope!

You:  Did you use… the force?

Me:  Always.

Ok, thanks for humoring me.  You’re too good.

So… If you’re not attuned to magical Star Wars powers, that’s ok.  You can still make this.  Ready?

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • An old shirt that you’re willing to part with (I used a tank top that had been ruined in the wash)
  • Scissors (for fabric)
  • About an hour of your time (I recommend doing this while watching TV)

1.  Cut off the top, just under the armholes so you end up with a tube shape.

2.  Cut thin and even strips of fringe about a third of the way up the “tube.”  I recommend really taking your time on this.  The first few I did were a little haphazard, before I realized it was not going to turn out well if I didn’t slow down (story of my life).  Cut the fringe all the way around the tube.

3.  Once you are done cutting, twist and pull each piece of fringe (so it actually resembles fringe and not so much cookie cutter strips of fabric).

4.  To get an even more shabby chic, fringe-y look, I recommend hand washing it, then hanging it up and letting it air dry (I wouldn’t machine wash it because then all of the fringe will tangle up).

Then you can wear it!

 

 

This was my very first attempt, and the shirt I used was a ribbed tank.  I think here it’s a little more obvious that it’s a shirt turned into a scarf, but I think it would work even better if it was a thinner cotton material, like the kind that a lot of women’s graphic tees are made of.  In my case, I used a women’s size small, so I’m guessing anything much bigger might be too big (unless you have an extraordinarily long torso).

My favorite thing about this project is that it reuses a shirt that would have been otherwise destined for the thrift store or garbage can.  Or in my case, just another addition to an already large collection of painting shirts (I mean, it’s kind of out of control).

Not to mention, there’s a scarf involved.  I mean, can you have too many scarves?!?!

(No, Josh.  The answer is “no,” you cannot have too many scarves.)

3 thoughts on “No-Sew Scarf Tutorial

  1. Fantastic! I hadn’t thought about this as an option. I am not a scarf girl but my daughter is (she is also only 5). Using exact same technique I could make a little fringe skirt for her!
    Did you happen to see my post change your point of view? I know this might seem like a shameless plug, but it is relevant. 15 different ways to wear a sweater – check it out!

  2. Thanks!

    And I tried to look up the post you were talking about, but I couldn’t find it. I tried searching on your blog under “sweater” and “15 ways to wear a sweater” to no avail. Can you send me a link?

Comments are closed.