Tying the Knot… Without Breaking the Bank

Y’all, it’s a new series!!!  

We are in the midst of proposal season, and as newly engaged couples are making wedding plans, I thought now was as good a time as any to address one of my favorite topics:  Wedding Planning!  

Now, I am not one of those gals who had her wedding planned by the time she was eight years old.  In fact, if you had asked me prior to getting engaged, I probably would have said “ehh… small ceremony?  whatever.”   But somehow the second I got engaged, my type A personality took over, along with my love for color, design, and penny-pinching… and a little over a year later I ended up with 250 guests, a lot of orange and green decor, a feature in The Knot magazine (really?!), and money left over.  Yes!

So… I thought I would share some of what I picked up in a little over a year of wedding planning, particularly the money saving tricks I learned (and even some I have learned since then).  In true Ginger Penny Pincher form, all of my skillz have a “champagne-taste-on-a-beer-budget” slant, so be warned:  if you are looking for a way to plan a fifty-dollar-a-plate-twenty-piece-orchestra-monogrammed-M&M’s-flippity-jillion-thousand-dollar extravaganza, you’ve come to the wrong place blog.

However, if you’re more of the GPP persuasion, then check back every Wednesday — now through May– for wedding planning tips, tricks, and pics!  And even if you’re not getting married, stay tuned anyway because I’ll share lots of great design and decor ideas that would be good for any occasion.  And… if you’ve got any engaged friends, encourage them to stop by as well (or better yet, subscribe so they don’t miss any Wedding Wednesdays!).

Tomorrow:  Valentine’s DIY Printable!

7 thoughts on “Tying the Knot… Without Breaking the Bank

  1. As someone who will be getting engaged soon, I will be checking back! How timely. My best to you and Josh!

  2. Pingback: Tying the Knot without Breaking the Bank: Setting the Date | The Ginger Penny Pincher

  3. Pingback: Wedding Wednesday: Finding a Venue | The Ginger Penny Pincher

  4. Pingback: Wedding Wednesday: Finding a Caterer | The Ginger Penny Pincher

  5. Pingback: Wedding Wednesdays: Save-the-Dates and Invitations | The Ginger Penny Pincher

Comments are closed.