Free Food on Halloween!

***Yes, I mentioned a holiday travel blog, in-the-works, that I was going to post today, but then I remembered today was Halloween!  Tomorrow: original programming as promised :)

*****And… if you have not yet taken the five minutes necessary to read my previous, albeit off-topic post, please do so, if you feel so inclined: https://thegingerpennypincher.wordpress.com/2011/10/30/off-topic-a-cause-thats-weighing-on-my-heart/)

Halloween is not just a day for wearing costumes, alluding to the “zany” nature of death, and soliciting your neighbors for candy – though if you think about it, that sounds really bizarre out of context.  And… it’s not just my friend Mike’s birthday, though if you knew him you would see how this is totally appropriate.  Halloween is also….

…A great day to get FREE FOOD!

My sweet little hot dog and bumblebee. (and by the way, I think Halloween is the only acceptable day to put animals in costumes, so I take FULL advantage of it. I got the hotdog costume at Goodwill for $2 and the bumblebee costume on sale for $4 at Petsmart. Worth. Every. Penny.)

Some restaurants offer free appetizers or dessert, some offer a discount off the entire check, especially if you wear a costume, and the majority of eating establishments offer free meals for kids (sometimes with the purchase of an adult entrée and/or if they wear costume).  I’ve listed below a few deals that I found online (some provided by examiner.com, others thanks to my Googlin’ skillz).

This list is by no means exhaustive! Once I started looking up these deals, I realized there were too many to type, so if you’re thinking about dining out – or ordering in – call ahead or ask for their Halloween specials – you might be surprised!

My disgruntled bumblebee, Nola, awaiting her dinner... however, this was NOT a free Halloween meal for her. I made her wear this costume (for 5 minutes) so I could get some pics. She's still bitter about it.

HALLOWEEN DEALS:

Applebee’s: Two free kids meals per adult entree; no costume necessary; In the Atlanta area, you can get 50% appetizers

CiCi’s Pizza: Coupon: Free kids buffet for kids in costume with purchase of an adult buffet

Dave and Busters: Spin and win $10 or $20 in free game play or a free entree

Chili’s: Coupon: Free kids meal with purchase of an adult entrée

Chipotle Mexican Grill: $2 burrito, bowl, tacos or salad for kids and adults dressed in costume inspired by the family farm from 6 to 10 p.m. (What does this mean?  I don’t know.)

Einstein Bros. Bagels: Free espresso with purchase of a breakfast sandwich; expires Nov. 10

Krispy Kreme: Free Halloween or Pumpkin Spice doughnut for anyone in costume

McCormick & Schmick’s: $10 off $50 check; expires Nov. 20; Free happy hour appetizer when you vote on cocktail recipe on Facebook; expires Nov. 13

Papa John’s: As always, PJ’S has its “Monday Mania,” which just so happens to fall on Halloween.  All large pizzas (including specialties) only $8.99

Pizza Hut: Free breadsticks or cinnamon sticks with e-mail signup and $10 any size, any toppings pizza

Steak ‘N Shake: Half-priced milkshakes from 6 to 10 p.m.

Ruby Tuesday: Buy one entree, get one free; through Facebook; expires Nov. 6

Sweet Tomatoes: Free meal for kids 12 and under in costume with purchase of adult entree

T.G.I. Friday: Free appetizer for anyone wearing a costume Saturday-Monday; Free entree with purchase of entree and two beverages.

Waffle House: Free waffle, any variety, through Nov. 11
Free waffles?  You gotta love that.

Not all locations have the same deals, so double check before you go!

Hot dog and Bumblebee are STILL waiting for the "OK" to eat. They're so patient.

Everyone have a safe and happy Halloween!!!

***and one more plug for yesterday’s very important blog:

https://thegingerpennypincher.wordpress.com/2011/10/30/off-topic-a-cause-thats-weighing-on-my-heart/

If you agree with any of my arguments, please sign our petition:

http://signon.org/sign/stop-shorter-university?source=s.fwd&r_by=1485127

Every signature helps, and we’re so close to our goal!  Help us to meet it, then surpass it!

