I found a cool, new website

So, the other day it was almost dinnertime and I was struck by many different conundra (that’s plural for conundrum) including, but not limited to:

  • hunger
  • increasing hunger
  • lack of food in the fridge and pantry
  • the lack of desire to go out to eat
  • the lack of desire to go to the grocery store
  • the lack of desire to order delivery (again)

It was an Eeyore kind of evening.  Fortunately, I did not lack the desire to cook (very fortunately), but due to conundra #4 (lack of food), I didn’t have many options.  I had turkey bacon, a pack of crescent rolls, and some leftover boursin cheese.  And water… which hardly constitutes a side item.  Yeah, I hadn’t been to the grocery store in a while.

So, I Googled “turkey bacon recipes” and, that’s when I came across My Fridge Food, a user-driven website where you input whatever ingredients you have (however few) and they generate recipe options for you!

As I mentioned before, the website is user-driven, so the number of recipes is constantly growing.  And because it is user-driven, some of the recipes are fabulous, others are lacking.  However, users are able to leave comments, and  this feedback can be helpful if you’re on the fence of whether or not to use a certain recipe.  If you register as a user (it’s free), you can comment on and submit recipes to your heart’s content!

The website’s main page has a few staples that a lot of people tend to have in their fridges.  You can check the boxes next to the items you have and search, or you can do a more detailed kitchen search (which has more food choices).  Another plus about this website is that it lists the fat, carbs, calories, and protein content of each recipe!

After doing a search for bacon, here is one of the more exciting things I found:

Bacon Bowls

Bacon in bowl form.  That shouldn’t even be legal.

Now, as I said, this website has a lot of great recipe options, but I decided to use it more as a jumping off point rather than stick to the letter of the recipe (and I didn’t have lettuce or tomatoes, so I couldn’t do the cute BLT bacon bowl thing featured in the pic).  However, I was captivated by the concept of a bacon bowl (yeah, captivated).

So… I took those crescent rolls, rolled each one up with a little dollop of boursin cheese on the inside and stuffed each into a muffin tin lined with a piece pf bacon and cooked it on 375 degrees F for about 10 minutes.  In short, I made bacon wrapped, boursin cheese stuffed crescent rolls (the jury is still out on the legality of such a delectable combination).  And unsurprsingly, they were delicious.  And ridiculous.  Nay, they were deliculous. 

pic.twitter.com/XBHFI97w

awesome camera phone pic courtesy of Josh

Kind of cute, too.  And all thanks to the inspiration I got from MyFridgeFood.com!

Here’s another simple recipe I’ve had my eye on:

Apple Cheddar English Muffin

Apple Cheddar English Muffins — I always have these three ingredients, and everyone says apples and cheddar cheese are a winning combination, though I’ve never tried it together.  (Anyone tried this combo before?)

So, not all of the recipes are super fancy, exciting stuff, but sometimes it inspires you (like it did with me) and helps you to creatively use what you may already have lying around.  And consequentially, save money (and you know I like that part).

Go check it out:  MyFridgeFood.com.

And then form strips of bacon into cups and bake them in muffin tins.  I mean, how could that be wrong?

Other food related posts:

Teresa’s Potato Cheese Soup

Easy Chocolate Truffles

In Praise of Restaurant.com

3 thoughts on “I found a cool, new website

  1. How can you tell me that you never ate an apple, bacon, cheddar sandwich at Harvest Moon in all the time we lived in Rome? I still dream about those things…

    • Ha! I actually never had one if those there. I’m guessing the bacon makes the difference because I made an apple and cheddar cheese sandwich yesterday after publishing this post and I was not the biggest fan. Bacon next time!

  2. Pingback: Daily Deals Faceoff and the Flu | The Ginger Penny Pincher

Leave a Reply

